Home | About Us | Catalog || Links | Submissions | Icons
 

Footsteps

Kirsten Johnson

Footsteps Book Cover


A richly detailed picture of the challenges and hardships confronting indigenous village peoples in contemporary Kenya.

Hanny Lightfoot-Klein
Author, Prisoners of Ritual;
Children's Genitals Under the Knife;
and The Doctor and the Poet



Steeped in wisdom and conflict, these pages tell a poignant, vivid tale of Kenyan sisters who struggle for a brighter future against the bonds of cultural traditions and sacrifices. The author writes with a calm authority, her prose richly detailing the setting and its people. Kirsten Johnson is a remarkable new voice writing in the tradition of authors such as Chitra Divakaruni and Alexis D. Pate.

Christine DeSmet
Author, Faculty Associate
Director, Writers' Institute, University of Wisconsin-Madison



Kirsten Johnson's first novel, Footsteps, opens the door to life in a traditional, east Kenyan village. Johnson creates deep layers of authenticity, describing faces in firelight, capturing village customs and dialogue, and introducing us to fascinating words in the native languages of Swahili and Kitharaka. One wonders how on earth she came so close to the intricacies of the circumcision ceremonies of young teen boys and girls. She writes with great sensitivity to the feelings of those circumcised, as well as the often conflicting perspectives of the adults surrounding them. With all the shrill debate and despair over female genital mutilation and Africa's HIV/AIDS rates, it is a relief to read about young girls' actual experiences, their anxieties, pain and even triumph, as they create new paths, leading away from those of their brothers, fathers and lovers..

Madeline Uraneck
Teacher Trainer, Lesotho College of Education
Returned Peace Corps Volunteer, Southern Africa



When you read Footsteps, you can almost smell the smoke of the cooking fires, hear the rhythm of African song and see the red clay of the footpaths around Kanini's village. In short, Kirsten Johnson has made the Kenyan bush come alive! Ms. Johnson's characters are Kenyans struggling to make sense of the changes taking place all around them. The protagonist, Kanini, faces challenges all her life - physical challenges, for sure, but more importantly, challenges to her beliefs and upbringing. Tradition has given a number of people the power to control her life, and they do ... forcing her to set aside her hopes and dreams. But somehow she survives and, in a sense, prevails over these setbacks and disappointments. Kanini's experience can help Americans better understand why Africa continues to struggle. But in the shadows of this struggle, we also find seeds of hope in the form of Kanini's sister, Gatiria, and a new generation that is ready to lead the people forward.

Mark Green
Director, MalariaNoMore Policy Center
Ambassador to Tanzania, 2007-08
Member of Congress, 1998-2006

 

ISBN: 978-1-935514-25-1

248 pages, $18.95

Categories
Fiction : Literary
History : Africa - East


About Us | Catalog | Search | Links | Submissions | Icons | Home
 
Site Design by
Isis Interactive
Copyright 2006. All Rights Reserved.
All content and images property of Plain View Press.